01onepage02table03cornerwide04postit

At 1.44pm on May 27, after 36 straight days using the Lamy Al-Star (with Platinum Pigment Blue) including two trips to Florida, I had to switch to something with black ink and a sharper edged nib.  Dunno why.  So I picked up the Pelikan M605 (with Sailor Kiwa Guro black ink).  This is a really really difficult combination for me.  The nib is sharp and very difficult for me to handle so I’ve been using it in the hope that suffering will bring some kind of improvement.  Or that suffering is somehow good in itself.

I don’t remember writing it, but when I woke up this morning, I found a neatly written postit in my handwriting that declared that, “All sorts of weird manias must sometimes be accommodated.”  Well, no arguing with that.

So, for the moment, the daily arsenal consists of the above mentioned pen and ink, a new, red Kunst & Papier A4 sketchbook the pages of which I box out in the Villard de Honnecourt medieval page layout format.  

What weird manias?

Doug

