Kiwagurodipsticks

Sailor Kiwa Guro nano-carbon black ink has become one of my favorites. It’s even displaced Noodler’s bulletproof black as my standard black. It is waterproof and well behaved in all my pens. That means that I use it a lot. And that means the ink level declines quickly. The bottle is so shallow that the level quickly becomes insufficient to fill a fountain pen. Fountain pens require the entire nib be submerged to be able to draw ink. 

 

I was soon propping up the bottle against something to get a deeper angle but when that became impractical, I decided to transfer the ink to a more fountain pen friendly bottle. So I ordered a bunch of empty Noodler’s small ink bottles from Goulet Pens for $1 each if you don’t mind rinsing them out yourself. For a while I was toying with leaving the wonderful and wacky Noodler’s label on the bottle. Wouldn’t it be a hoot to put Kiwa Guro black in a bottle labeled “Whiteness of the Whale”? But I decided against that.

 

Note the two toothpick “dipsticks.” The first shows the depth of ink in the center of the bottle: 10mm. The second shows the depth when the bottle was optimally angled: 19mm. A Pelikan M600 requires a depth greater than 20mm. The ink nearly filled a 30ml Noodler’s ink bottle so more than half the ink from the 50ml Sailor bottle was decanted. And rendered useful.

 

All that being said and done, I decided to continue using Platinum Pigment Blue today. But I’m ready for tomorrow. Or the day after…

 

Doug 

 

Update: Apparently, Sailor must have received a lot of complaints.  The new bottles are all equipped with an internal plastic funnel that contains the ink so it can be good to the last drop.  Mentioned here in a test of Sailor Jentle Blue-Black on the FountainPenNetwork.

 

 

 

