So I had this weird dream last night where I invented a small device that created an unlimited spatial dimension. I put this in the trunk of my Miata so I could carry a full load of groceries or whatever amount of stuff in the tiny trunk. I was going to market the invention next week so I could retire and live in obscene luxury.

But first things first so I went to Kokua Market to buy the usual stuff to make Food Not Bombs soup for tomorrow and put the stuff in my trunk. I usually have to use the passenger side to do this. But when I got home I realized that the stuff had fallen through the dimensional portal and that somewhere in the vast expanse below there was a cargo cult of people who were wishing for another bag of organic celery, Hauula tomatoes and what not to drop down on them. They were praying and dancing and wearing costumes to try to get another bag of organic produce to drop down, but of course, I didn’t have one and I didn’t want to encourage false beliefs.

But, on the other hand, if I went and bought another bag and dropped it down on them that wouldn’t be false would it? But I still had to pay for this stuff so I wasn’t about to start something I couldn’t afford. If they wanted organic produce then they could just go and get a fucking job like me, or just grow the stuff themselves. That’s what I thought. But then another counter thought came to me and that was if they did it that way, there would be no dancing and music etc. But no, I wasn’t going to bust my ass and buy organic produce so they could sing and dance and make music. Jesus! And I mean that as an expletive and not an exhortation.

As I leaned down to look at this vast expanse, I fell in. I mean, of course, right? So I’m swimming around in this other world and I’m trying to get back to my Miata trunk but there is a border between this world and my Miata trunk and it’s like plexiglass. So there is a small Miata trunk lid size opening in the sky but since it’s plexiglass, I can’t see it. All I can see is sky—clouds and blueness and like that. And damn, the sky is big. I’m swimming around feeling for the hole and coming up with just plexiglass. Even if I had an excellent method for checking it would take me forever to find the hole because I had to swim around and feel for the opening.

But I found some people in this world and they told me they had invented a device that allowed one to see where the holes to the other side were. It was a small device like a GoPro and I looked up at the sky with it but the batteries were dead. They said if you prayed, sometimes, like every 4,000 years, batteries would drop down from the sky.The problem with this world I was trapped in, aside from the fact that everyone was dumb as hell, was that it was very grey and lonely and sad. I looked up at the sky and could see the bright and heavenly world I’d fallen from, but I just needed to swim up there and find the puka. But that wasn’t very likely.

Then I woke up, and the world seemed so colorful and bright. I was really happy to wake up and see the sun shining on the neighboring houses and on the Ewa plain in the distance, and hear birds chirping and hear people doing stuff and all that stuff.But I’ve developed a fear of my Miata trunk, and I don’t actually know what side of the puka I’m at. This dream of inverted and intertwining themes is structured a lot like Bach fugues which I’m kind of obsessed with at the moment. And maybe that caused my brain to come up with this. But at the same time, I’m reminding myself to buy batteries when I go grocery shopping today.

H. Doug Matsuoka
Alewa 01/08/2022